Record 1,702 Entries Accepted For 2014 U.S. Women's Open

Inbee Park won her second U.S. Women's Open in 2013 at Sebonack Golf Club in Southampton, N.Y. 1,702 entrants will compete for a chance to win the championship this year. (USGA/John Mummert)

Inbee Park won her second U.S. Women's Open in 2013 at Sebonack Golf Club in Southampton, N.Y. 1,702 entrants will compete for a chance to win the championship this year. (USGA/John Mummert)

Thursday, May 1, 2014


FAR HILLS, N.J.- The United States Golf Association has accepted a record number of entries for the 2014 U.S. Women’s Open Championship, to be conducted at Pinehurst Resort & Country Club’s Course No. 2 in the Village of Pinehurst, N.C., June 19-22. The 1,702 entries surpass the 1,420 entries accepted for the 2013 championship at Sebonack Golf Club in Southampton, N.Y. 

Eighty players are fully exempt into the championship, led by two-time and defending champion Inbee Park and nine other past Women’s Open winners. 

"This record number of U.S. Women’s Open entrants is further illustration of the broad appeal of this national championship," said Daniel B. Burton, USGA vice president and chairman of the Championship Committee. "With the best players in the women’s game competing on famed Pinehurst No. 2 immediately following the U.S. Open, this year’s U.S. Women’s Open is poised to be one of the most thrilling and memorable in history. We are extremely excited for this opportunity to showcase the talent of the female players on the same layout as the men.”

Considered the world’s premier women’s golf championship, the U.S. Women’s Open is one of 13 national championships conducted annually by the USGA. It is open to professional female golfers and amateur females with a Handicap Index® not exceeding 2.4. 

Park is one of 10 U.S. Women’s Open champions who are fully exempt into the field. She is joined by Na Yeon Choi (2012), Paula Creamer (2010), Juli Inkster (1999, 2002), Eun-Hee Ji (2009), Cristie Kerr (2007), Birdie Kim (2005), Se Ri Pak (1998), So Yeon Ryu (2011) and Karrie Webb (2000, 2001). 

Entries were received from 46 states (all except Delaware, Maine, South Dakota and Vermont), the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, as well as 52 foreign countries. 

Players can still earn full exemptions by winning the North Texas LPGA Shootout, Kingsmill Championship, Mobile Bay LPGA Classic, ShopRite LPGA Classic or Manulife Financial LPGA Classic. Additionally, those who are among the top 25 of the Rolex Women’s World Golf Rankings as of June 16 will earn a full exemption, provided they were not previously exempt.

The remainder of the field will be filled via 36-hole sectional qualifying, which will be conducted at 24 sites. For the first time in championship history, international qualifying will be conducted, at sites in the People’s Republic of China, England, Japan and the Republic of Korea. Qualifying begins May 5 and runs through May 30, with all four international qualifiers scheduled for Monday, May 19. 

“The tremendous international growth of women’s golf is very exciting and encouraging for the future health of the game,” said Dot Paluck, chairman of the USGA Women’s Committee. “The USGA is proud to add international qualifying to the championship schedule, and we are looking forward to hosting the world’s best players at Pinehurst.”

The first player to file an entry was Katy McNicoll, a 26-year-old professional from Scotland. The last to file was 17-year-old amateur Mackenzie Peyton, of New Castle, Ky., who submitted her entry eight minutes before the deadline of 5 p.m. EDT on April 30. Alexa Pano, 9, of Lake Worth, Fla., who finished third in her age group at the 2014 Drive, Chip & Putt Championship, is the championship’s youngest entrant. Bobbi Lancaster, 63, of Gold Canyon, Ariz., is the oldest entrant for the second consecutive year.

Players Fully Exempt Into the 2014 U.S. Women's Open

Sun-Ju AhnChie ArimuraChristel BoeljonNicole Castrale
Chella ChoiNa Yeon ChoiYoo Lim ChoiCarlota Ciganda
Irene CoeJacqui ConcolinoPaula CreamerShanshan Feng
Sandra GalJulieta GranadaNatalie GulbisMina Harigae
Caroline HedwallKarine IcherJuli InksterHa-Na Jang
Eun-Hee JiJennifer JohnsonMoriya JutanugarnDanielle Kang
Haeji KangCristie KerrBirdie KimI.K. Kim
Sei Young KimKatherine KirkLydia KoJessica Korda
Candie KungBrittany LangIlhee LeeJee Young Lee
Meena LeeStacy LewisBrittany LincicomePernilla Lindberg
Teresa LuMo MartinCaroline MassonCatriona Matthew
Ai MiyazatoMika MiyazatoRikako MoritaAzahara Munoz
Gwladys NoceraAnna NordqvistLee-Anne PaceSe Ri Pak
Hee Young ParkInbee ParkJane ParkSuzann Pettersen
Pornanong PhatlumGerina PillerMorgan PresselBeatriz Recari
Jennifer RosalesSo Yeon RyuLizette SalasDewi Claire Schreefel
Giulia SergasJodi Ewart ShadoffJenny ShinAngela Stanford
(a) Emma TalleyLexi ThompsonYani TsengAyako Uehara
Mariajo UribeAlison WalsheKarrie WebbMichelle Wie
Amy YangSakura YokomineSun Young YooYumiko Yoshida

Bold = U.S. Women’s Open champion
(a) = amateur

PosPlayerTo ParThruToday
1WIE, Michelle-2FE
2LEWIS, StacyEF-4
3MEADOW, Stephanie+1F-1
4YANG, Amy+2F+4
T5LEE, Meena+3F-2
T5RYU, So Yeon+3FE
T7YOKOMINE, Sakura+4F+1
* 10th Tee Start
Red - Tickets
Red - USGA Membership
U.S. Women's Open Shop
Related Videos