TBD Exempt Players
Ridgeway Country Club/Colonial Country Club (South Course)

Ridgeway Country Club/Colonial Country Club (South Course)

Memphis, Tenn. • qualifying: Jun 04, 2018

Although both venues have previously been used for sectional qualifying, this will be the first time the two will be paired together. Ridgeway Country Club, which opened in 1971, was designed by the trio of Ed Seay, Ellis Maples and Bill Bergin. Colonial Country Club, which is a 36-hole facility, was the site of Al Geiberger's 59 in the 1977 Danny Thomas Memphis Classic on the PGA Tour. Founded in 1913 by several local businessmen, Colonial Country Club, which was a longtime PGA Tour host site, moved to its current site in 1968. Notable winners at Colonial include U.S. Open champions Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player, Lee Trevino, Jerry Pate, Raymond Floyd, Tommy Bolt and Curtis Strange.

Two-time U.S. Open champion Retief Goosen, of South Africa, who is hoping to return to Shinnecock Hills where he claimed his second title in 2004, headlines the 117 professionals and amateurs in the field. He will be joined in the field by 2006 U.S. Open champion Geoff Ogilvy, of Australia, and past PGA champions Davis Love III and Shaun Micheel. Steve Stricker, who qualified last year to play at Erin Hills in his home state of Wisconsin, also is scheduled to compete. Stricker is already in this year's U.S. Senior Open, as is Love.

A number of past USA Walker Cup players are in the field, including 2017 competitor Norman Xiong, who has foregone his final two years of eligibility at the University of Oregon to turn professional. Other professionals in the field who competed in the Walker Cup include Matt Every, Michael Kim, Harris English, Blayne Barber, Jonathan Byrd, JB Holmes, Chris Kirk and Billy Horschel. University of Mississippi standout and 2017 NCAA champion Braden Thornberry, a member of the victorious 2017 USA Walker Cup Team, is competing as an amateur. Also in the field is 1999 U.S. Junior Amateur champion and 2002 U.S. Amateur runner-up Hunter Mahan, recent first-time PGA Tour winner Aaron Wise and last year's college player of the year Sam Burns, who turned professional after the U.S. Amateur.

The qualifier is conducted by the Tennessee Golf Association, one of 59 Allied Golf Associations supported by the USGA.