12 Additional Players Exempt for 122nd U.S. Open

By Brian DePasquale, USGA

| Jun 06, 2022 | LIBERTY CORNER, N.J.

12 Additional Players Exempt for 122nd U.S. Open

Twelve additional players have earned exemptions into the 122nd U.S. Open Championship, which will be held on the Open Course at The Country Club, in Brookline, Mass., on June 16-19, 2022. These exemptions bring the number of fully exempt players to 91.

The additional 12 players earned entry based on the current Official World Golf Ranking® (OWGR®) or the four-event U.S. Open 2022 European Qualifying Series, which ended on June 5.

Exemptions were awarded to two players who moved into the top 60 of the OWGR as of June 6, who were not otherwise exempt. Aaron Wise was the runner-up in Sunday’s Memorial Tournament and rose to No. 44 in the ranking. Wise, who will compete in his fourth U.S. Open, turned professional in 2016 after winning the NCAA Championship while playing for the University of Oregon. Luke List moved to No. 59 and will play in his sixth U.S. Open. He defeated Will Zalatoris in a playoff to win the Farmers Insurance Open for his first PGA Tour victory.

The top 10 aggregate point earners, who are otherwise not exempt, in the four-event U.S. Open 2022 European Qualifying Series also earned places in the field. Those players are: No. 1 Victor Perez, of France; No. 2 Ryan Fox, of New Zealand; No. 3 Thorbjorn Olesen, of Denmark; No. 4 Sam Horsfield, of England; No. 5 Sebastian Soderberg, of Sweden; No. 6 Kalle Samooja, of Finland; No. 7 Wil Besseling, of Netherlands; No. 8 Yannik Paul, of Germany; No. 9 Richard Mansell, of England; and No. 10 Marcel Schneider, of Germany.

Olesen earned a two-stroke victory on May 8 in the DP World Tour’s Betfred British Masters, the first event in the series. Horsfield won the Soudal Open one week later, his third PGA European Tour victory. Perez emerged from a four-hole playoff with Fox to capture the Dutch Open on May 29. Samooja carded a final-round 64 on Sunday to win the final tournament in the series, the Porsche European Open.

Fox, Olesen and Horsfield will play in their fourth U.S. Opens. Perez and Soderberg qualified for their third and second Opens, respectively. Samooja, Besseling, Mansell, Schneider and Paul will each make their debut in the championship.

Following final qualifying on Monday, June 6, the USGA will hold one place in the field for a multiple winner of PGA Tour events that award a full-point allocation for the season-ending Tour Championship.