Currently Exempt Players for 123rd U.S. Open


| Feb 15, 2023 | Liberty Corner, N.J.

Currently Exempt Players for 123rd U.S. Open

The field for the 123rd U.S. Open Championship, to be played June 15-18 at The Los Angeles (Calif.) Country Club is starting to take shape. Several competitors, including defending champion Mathew Fitzpatrick, are already exempt from qualifying. Others will earn their spot in the 156-player field via Final Qualifying. 

The following is a list of the exemptions as established by the USGA and which players fall into those categories:

Bold: First time a player is listed

F-1. Winners of the U.S. Open Championship the last 10 years (2013-22):

Matt Fitzpatrick (2022)
Jon Rahm (2021)
Bryson DeChambeau (2020)
Gary Woodland (2019)
Brooks Koepka (2018)
Brooks Koepka (2017)
Dustin Johnson (2016)
Jordan Spieth (2015)
Martin Kaymer (2014)
Justin Rose (2013)

F-2. From the 2022 U.S. Open Championship, the 10 lowest scorers and anyone tying for 10th place:

Matt Fitzpatrick
Scottie Scheffler
Hideki Matsuyama
Collin Morikawa

Rory McIlroy
Denny McCarthy
Adam Hadwin
Keegan Bradley
Gary Woodland
Joel Dahmen

F-3. Winner of the 2022 U.S. Senior Open Championship:

Padraig Harrington

F-4. Winner of the 2022 U.S. Amateur Championship:

Sam Bennett

F-5. Winners of the 2022 U.S. Junior Amateur and U.S. Mid-Amateur Championships, and the 2022 U.S. Amateur runner-up (must be an amateur):

Wenyi Ding (U.S. Junior Amateur)
Matthew McClean (U.S. Mid-Amateur)
Ben Carr (U.S. Amateur runner-up)

F-6. Winners of the Masters Tournament from 2019-2023:

Jon Rahm (2023)
Scottie Scheffler (2022)
Hideki Matsuyama (2021)
Dustin Johnson (2020)
Tiger Woods (2019)

F-7. Winners of the PGA of America Championship from 2018-2023:

Brooks Koepka (2023)
Justin Thomas (2022)

Phil Mickelson (2021)
Collin Morikawa (2020)
Brooks Koepka (2019)
Brooks Koepka (2018)

F-8. Winners of The Open Championship the last five years (2018-22):

Cameron Smith (2022)
Collin Morikawa (2021)
Event Not Held in 2020 (COVID-19)
Shane Lowry (2019)
Francesco Molinari (2018)

F-9. Winners of The Players Championship from 2021-2023:

Scottie Scheffler (2023)
Cameron Smith (2022)
Justin Thomas (2021)

F-10. Winner of the 2022 European BMW PGA Championship:

Shane Lowry

F-11. Those players who qualified and were eligible for the season-ending 2022 Tour Championship:

Rory McIlroy
Sungjae Im
Scottie Scheffler
Xander Schauffele
Max Homa
Justin Thomas
Patrick Cantlay

Sepp Straka
Tony Finau
Tom Hoge
Hideki Matsuyama
Joaquin Niemann
Jordan Spieth
Matt Fitzpatrick
Viktor Hovland
J.T. Poston
Jon Rahm
Cameron Young
Cameron Smith
Brian Harman

Billy Horschel
Collin Morikawa
Sam Burns
Adam Scott
Corey Conners
K.H. Lee

Sahith Theegala
Scott Stallings
Aaron Wise

F-12. Multiple winners of PGA Tour events that award full-point allocation for the FedEx Cup, from the conclusion of the 2022 U.S. Open to the initiation of the 2023 U.S. Open:

Xander Schauffele
Tony Finau
Tom (Joohyung) Kim
Rory McIlroy
Jon Rahm
Max Homa
Scottie Scheffler

F-13. The Top 5 players in the 2022-23 FedExCup standings as of May 22, 2023, who are not otherwise exempt:

Nick Taylor
Mackenzie Hughes
Taylor Montgomery
Hayden Buckley
Andrew Putnam

F-14. The points leader from the 2022 Korn Ferry Tour season using combined points earned on the Official Korn Ferry Tour Regular Season Points Standings and points earned in the Korn Ferry Tour Finals:

Justin Suh

F-15. The top two players from the final 2022 DP World Tour Final Points List who are not otherwise exempt as of May 22, 2023:

Jordan Smith
Thriston Lawrence

F-16. The top player on the 2023 Race to Dubai Rankings as of May 22, 2023, who is not otherwise exempt:

Min Woo Lee

F-17. The top two finishers from the 2023 DP World Tour U.S. Open Qualifying Series who are not otherwise exempt:

Romain Langasque
Simon Forsstrom

F-18. Winner of 2022 The Amateur Championship conducted by The R&A (must be an amateur):

Aldrich Poltgieter

F-19. Winner of the 2022 Mark H. McCormack Medal (Men's World Amateur Golf Ranking; must be an amateur):


F-20. Winner of the 2023 NCAA Division I Men's Individual Golf Championship (must be an amateur):


F-21. Winner of the 2023 Latin America Amateur Championship (must be an amateur):

Mateo Fernandez de Oliveira

F-22. From the current Official World Golf Ranking, the top 60 points leaders and ties as of May 22, 2023. Players must select a qualifying site at the time of entry. (NOTE: Blank entries will be filed by the USGA for players who become exempt after the close of entries.):

Scottie Scheffler (1)
Jon Rahm (2)
Rory McIlroy (3)
Patrick Cantlay (4)
Xander Schauffele (5)
Viktor Hovland (6)
Max Homa (7)
Cameron Smith (8)
Matt Fitzpatrick (9)
Jordan Spieth (11)
Tony Finau (12)
Brooks Koepka (13)
Sam Burns (14)
Justin Thomas (15)
Cameron Young (16)
Colin Morikawa (17)
Tyrell Hatton (18)
Sungjae Im (19)
Kurt Kitayama (20)
Tom Kim (21)
Jason Day (22)
Tommy Fleetwood (23)
Keegan Bradley (24)
Hideki Matsuyama (25)
Shane Lowry (26)
Sahith Theegala (27)
Corey Conners (28)
Justin Rose (29)
Joaquin Niemann (30)
Russell Henley (31)
Tom Hoge (32)
Wyndham Clark (33)
Sepp Straka (34)
Billy Horschel (35)
Chris Kirk (36)
Brian Harman (37)
Si Woo Kim (38)
Harris English (39)
Adam Scott (40)
Ryan Fox (41)
Seamus Power (42)
K.H.  Lee (43)
Patrick Reed (44)
Taylor Moore (45)
Abraham Ancer (46)
Adrian Meronk (47)
Lucas Herbert (48)
Cameron Davis (49)
Guillermo Mito Pereira (50)
Matt Kuchar (51)
Rickie Fowler (52)
Thomas Pieters (53)
Denny McCarthy (54)
Keith Mitchell (55)
J.T. Poston (56)
Aaron Wise (57)
Adam Svensson (58)
Victor Perez (59)
Alex Noren (60)

F-23. From the current Official World Golf Ranking, the top 60 points leaders and ties as of June 12, 2023 (if not previously exempt). Players must select a qualifying site at the time of entry. (NOTE: Blank entries will be filed by the USGA for players who become exempt after the close of entries.):

Emiliano Grillo (43)
Nick Taylor (44)
Pablo Larrazabal (52)
Adam Schenk (54)

F-24. Special exemptions as selected by the USGA. Deadline for submission of request: May 17, 2023.