Merion Adds 2040 U.S. Open to its Future USGA Events

By Julia Pine, USGA

| Jan 22, 2024 | Liberty Corner, N.J.

Merion Adds 2040 U.S. Open to its Future USGA Events

Merion Golf Club, in Ardmore, Pa., will serve as the host site for the 2040 U.S. Open Championship. Merion was previously awarded both the 2030 and 2050 championships, setting the club up to host the U.S. Open once every 10 years. This latest announcement is reflective of the USGA’s long-term commitment to the club, which will also play host to the 2026 U.S. Amateur and both the 2034 and 2046 U.S. Women’s Opens.

“For well over a century, Merion has served as the site of some of American golf’s most iconic moments,” says John Bodenhamer, USGA chief championships officer. “Our relationship with the club and its membership continues to grow, and when we looked at our future lineup for the U.S. Open, we wanted to enhance our upcoming commitment with a more regular cadence. We are thrilled to be able to return to such an important club on a regular basis and look forward to watching the world’s best write new chapters in the history of this great game.”

To date, Merion Golf Club has hosted 19 USGA championships, the most of any site:

  • Five U.S. Opens (1934, 1950, 1971, 1981, 2013)
  • Six U.S. Amateurs (1916, 1924, 1930, 1966, 1989, 2005)
  • Four U.S. Women’s Amateurs (1904, 1909, 1926, 1949)
  • One U.S. Girls’ Junior (1998)
  • Two Curtis Cups (1954, 2022)
  • One Walker Cup (2009) 

“Starting with its formation, the desire to host significant championships has been at Merion’s core, said Buddy Marucci, Merion championship committee chair. “It is no wonder Merion has hosted more USGA championships than any other club in America. Our partnership with the USGA dates to its first decade and has produced some of the most memorable moments in golf history. We are thrilled to celebrate those moments by announcing an additional U.S. Open Championship to be played in the year 2040. We look forward to all future generations of the world’s best players having the opportunity to compete on Hugh Wilson’s timeless masterpiece.”